Adventuring

This past week has been one of great adventures and many lessons! Last Wednesday (8/8/12), I went on an adventure with a good friend of mine. I woke up thinking I was going to be spending the day at her house with her family, but was in the mood for an adventure. So of course, I texted Maddie to see if she was up for adventuring with me and we were set to discover more of the world (or at least Ohio)! Once I arrived at her house, which is about 35 minutes away from mine, we made a plan to travel up to Lake Erie, and go to a beach in Port Clinton, Ohio. After making pit stops at the gas station, target (for band-aids and lotion) and Panera Bread, we finally made it to the beach a little before 5.

We had some great chats on the way up and many laughs. At one point, Maddie had a mini break-down, but God worked through that and it was neat to see Him providing for her.

Once we got to the park, we went to change into our bathing suits. This is the first time that I was going to wear a bikini in public and I was more than a little nervous. I went in to change, and threw my cover up on top of my suit. I sat and waited for Maddie and then we made our trek to find the perfect spot to sun bathe.  I realized I had forgotten to bring a towel with me in the rush of packing to leave my house, so my towel was made up of my cover-up dress, my jean shorts and my camisole that I had been wearing..they were completely filled with sand by the time we left (hence why I left my bathing suit on for the ride home)! At first I was uncomfortable about wearing close to nothing in front of people, but I eventually stopped caring and just enjoying being in the sun and on the beach.

That day was one of the most relaxing days that I have had in ages…I actually can’t think of the last time I had been that relaxed! We stuck our feet in the water, soaked up some sun and got covered in sand and it was GLORIOUS. It made me look forward to the week I will spend in South Carolina in a few days!

Besides a few minor bumps along the way, Maddie and I had an extremely successful adventure. We discovered a new beautiful park in Ohio that I plan to go back to, someday. It’s amazing when God puts a sense of adventure in your heart and you follow it…it always turns out to be amazing.

Have an adventurous day!

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

