Dreaming..

Being tackled with a million hugs and kisses from 50 different little girls.

Some screaming to have pay basketball and spin them around in circles, others wanting for me to just sit and snuggle.

A loud speakers on a van that plays an advertisement so loud at 7:30 in the mornings that it wakes me up.

A lady walking down the streets of Santa Rosa, selling tamales and yelling in a voice that sounds like death.

Babies laying on the floor of the baby orphanage napping.

My first ever motorcycle ride, swerving in between cars and stopping at the last second…holding on for dear life.

The smell of fresh, Honduran food cooking as I walk past different homes.

Seeing donkeys and horses carrying wood and groceries as their owners walk alongside them.

Young toddler running to me with her arms wide open, craving a long embrace.

These are the things of Honduras that I dream of, that I miss so dearly. Some are things I knew I would miss; others are things I thought I couldn’t wait get away from, but now are fond memories. I’m trying desperately to live in the now..to be present here, in Ohio. This place is no longer comfortable for me though…thoughts and dreams of Honduras are what keep me comfortable and give me the strength to keep studying, working and pushing through until I can go back someday. It’s a new challenge every day and constant battle between my heart and my mind. I will make it through though, because this is all in God’s plan. There are things I will learn and ways I will grow in the next couple years that are necessary for me to have a ministry in the future. When I keep these things in mind the frustration of wanting so badly to be in Honduras seems to subside, at least for a little bit.

Isaiah 40:28 says, “The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth. He never grows weak or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding. He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless. Even youths will become weak and tired, and young men will fall in exhaustion. But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.” This is what I must rely on to make it through this next stretch of my life. Thank you Lord for being so gracious and patient with me!

Have a wonderful evening

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

