Blessings

First off I want to say “Congrats!” to my dear friend Christina for getting to our 4 posts a month goal for the first time in November! So proud of her for pushing through and continuing to write!

Secondly, I cannot express how joyful I am feeling right now. Let me start from the beginning:

From a very young age, I loved the idea of working in or running an orphanage (what little girl dreams of that?) and I also played school more than anything else. My parents always told me I would someday be a teacher. Somehow, even though I used to print out attendance sheets, lesson plans and had a very used chalkboard hanging on my wall, I didn’t believe them.

I went to  Honduras  with an open mind and open heart, but I also had a plan in the back of my mind to stay in the U.S.. Of course, I wanted to travel, but I did not want to live in another country. Of course, as soon as I spent a day in Honduras, my mind was changed. God knew what my heart really wanted. (And thanks to my best friend, Chelsea, who prayed that God would wreck me…you are partially to blame for this!)

While in Honduras, I spent quite a bit of time at the orphanage and with the girls outside of the orphanage. Leaving that place for the last time at the end of my trip was such a bittersweet moment. I knew I would be back, but walking away from those beautiful girls was extremely difficult. As everyone returned to Ohio and to normal life, a few imprints were left on the hearts of John and Laurel Leedy, the couple I went down with. I heard it through the grapevine that they liked the idea of me teaching English in the orphanage in Santa Rosa.  The first time I heard the idea, my heart nodded before my mind did. It would be a little girl’s dream come true!

There would be many details that would have to be worked out before this would be possible. I had dinner with John and Laurel one evening just to touch on the idea, and to make sure we were all on the same page. They left for Honduras this past Thursday for a week and told me that they would be talking to Joe about the idea. Joe works in the orphanage and has a large influence on the decisions that the nuns, who run the orphanage, make. I have been praying about this for months on end now, and every night since they have left.

God is good. This afternoon, I got a message on Facebook from John that they talked to Joe and he is excited about the idea. Now there are still many more details to be worked out, but this is such a huge weight of a shoulders. It’s like I can see my future in Honduras now, I can write it out on paper and believe it. I am going on faith and saying that I will be teaching English in the orphanage in Santa Rosa once I am full-time down there.

I cried for half an hour and screamed thanks to God (several times). I am so excited to see Him work out the rest of the details.

This journey He has been taking me on has been incredible. It was so unexpected and I often catch myself wondering if it’s even real. It seems to be from a story or the large imagination of a child. In fact, it seems to be from the imagination I had as a child. I love seeing it become reality and feeling God breathe life into it.

I apologize for this post, as it is kind of jumpy, but I’m having trouble expressing this joy I have. It is different than anything I have ever felt. It is the joy one feels when they step beyond faith and continue to follow Christ. I also want to thank everyone who have been praying for me and this journey. It’s such a blessing to have a great support team as I walk this incredible journey.

Thanks again, and have a very blessed day,

-Sadie

“Jesus answered, “I tell you the truth, if you have faith and do not doubt, you will be able to do what I did to this tree and even more. You will be able to say to this mountain, ‘Go, fall into the sea.’ And if you have faith, it will happen.” Matthew 21:21

Leave a Reply

