Defensive Heart

Fairly recently I had a conversation with someone who didn’t share my passion and excitement for overseas missions. I don’t expect everyone to feel the same way I do, since there was a time in my life that I didn’t feel this same way.

As we were talking, I was sharing with him about Canada, and he asked where I would want to live after graduating. I told him that I was actually going to be in full-time missions in Honduras after graduating. He seemed appalled. This guy who barely knows me, proceeded to discourage me from going to Honduras or in to missions in general. He told me that I wouldn’t have as many freedoms as I do here, and that there is still a lot of work to be done here.

I couldn’t agree more! Except for the fact that this is where God has called me.

I automatically got defense of my Honduras, my home. My heart began to grow in frustration at this person’s lack of respect for where God has called me.

I explained to him that yes, there was a lot of work to do here in America, and that not everyone is called to be overseas. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that. I even told him that this was not my plan, but God has a way of coming in and showing us where He wants us.

He then asked if my church is supportive of this journey I’m on (I worded it in a kinder manner). I was very proud to say that yes, my church is supportive of this journey.

I quickly ended the conversation, and was simply amazed for a while afterwards. First of all, at how quick I was to defend Honduras and this journey. Secondly, at how completely ignorant he was about everything.

How are we to reach out to those that are overseas, without some of us being there? It doesn’t make sense to me. Anyone who goes into overseas missions, goes in knowing that there will be less freedoms, there will be more frustrations, but that God will provide in every single possible way.

It’s what makes it a risk. It was makes it an adventure. It’s what makes this my journey, or rather, God’s journey for me.

All of this reminded me how strongly I feel about not only overseas missions, but also for Honduras. None of this was planned. None of this was even my desire, yet God has brought it all together. He continues to remind me of this and brings people like this into my life to remind me as well.

Have a blessed day!

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

