Leaving Your Church

I guess I’m just writing more out of concern than anything else. Why do we change churches? Is it a legitimate reason? Below I have left two links to really great articles that go more in depth. But, here goes:

Right now, I’m at an incredible church in which God is really moving and doing incredible things. Yet, there seems to be so much doubt. It sometimes drives me crazy.

I truly believe that we are supposed to support our church, no matter what. Yes, there are dry seasons, and moist ones, just as with everything else in life. Pastor’s retire and other one’s take their place. Things change. Isn’t that part of life?!

There have been a couple of times that I have considered looking at other churches, but then something in me knows it isn’t right. Just because I’m not feeling it, is not a reason. Just because I might not agree with one of millions of decisions that have been made, is not a reason. I could go on and on, but I won’t because I might frustrate myself.

You see, we are called to be part of the body of Christ (Romans 12:3-5, 1 Corinthians 12:12-26). If we don’t feel like we’re getting anything out of the church, then we aren’t giving enough! Church is not about going every week just to check it off some kind of list. It’s not about going to be ministered to and then return each week expecting the same, because your pastor can’t magically speak into every member of the church. It’s simply not possible.

Sure, my church isn’t perfect, but no church is. Why? Because humans make up a church, and humans are imperfect! (I know, surprise, right?!)

I really think it’s time we stop whining and being frustrated with our pastors or whoever else, and grow up a little bit (or a lot). For us young adults, we will be the one’s leading before too long. We need to take responsibility for that and step it up!

I love the church I attend, I think my pastor is an incredible man of God, I can see God moving there and the people who surround me every week truly do my heart good. It’s not perfect, as I said, but if you’re looking for perfect, you’re never going to find it.

Articles: 

http://www.boundlessline.org/2013/01/leaving-church.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+boundlessline%2Fblog+%28Blog%3A+Boundless+Line%29

http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/kevindeyoung/2010/07/23/good-reasons-for-moving-on/

Have a blessed day,

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

