Seeds

“I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God has been making it grow. So neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow. The one who plants and the one who waters have one purpose, and they will each be rewarded according to their own labor. For we are co-workers in God’s service; you are God’s field, God’s building.”

1 Corinthians 3:6-9

I remember sitting in the warm, morning air of Honduras and reading this verse. We were doing devotions with the Seahawks (the ministry my brother is part of) living on the island of Roatan. We were all asked to meditate on a verse or two for five minutes. I opened to one of my several bookmarks and these verses were what I began reading. I had read them many times before and it has been something I’ve always struggled with. I have had many opportunities in my life to plant and/or water seeds. I always understood that all that mattered was God. He was simply using me to touch another life. What I have always struggled with, is accepted that I’m not always supposed to plant and water.

Sometimes God asks me only to complete one of the two and then trust Him with the rest. What if God asks someone else to water after I’ve planted by they don’t obey? What if when I stop water, their hearts begin to pull away from God? What if….? I try my best to stop my mind from wandering, as it does so well. I try my best to simply trust. Unfortunately, that is not always easy.

Reading and meditating on them is what brought me to a better understanding. It also brought me to tears.

At the end of verse nine, Paul writes that we are God’s buildings. After meditating on those first verses, I continued on to the next couple verses: “By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as a wise builder, and someone else is building on it. But each one should build with care. For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ” (1 Corinthians 3:10-11).  What I began to realize is that am needing watered just as much as the lost do. As I am planting and watering seeds, others continue to water my seed. God has always had someone in my life to water me, so how can I not trust that He would do the same for others?

I also reminded me of how broken and small I am.

Which task I am performing is not important, but I also am not important compared to God’s power and works. He doesn’t need to use us to accomplish things, but loves us enough to do so. He takes us as broken, sinning, nothings and uses us to do amazing things! Why? Only because he loves us.

Have a blessed day!

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

