These Special Moments

We have been in Honduras now for 3 days, and my it feels so good to be back here. I have no doubt in my mind that this is home.  I can’t wait for the days of living here and being part of this culture rather than just viewing it!

As we work in the orphanage and love on the girls, I have begun to understand what teachers and parents say when they describe the special moments that make everything worth it. Although I love every minute of being with the girls, I know there will be times in the future that it will be more of a stress than a joy. (I sure hope those days will be short lived and far spread!)

Last night I sat in the orphanage with  several girls surrounding me, and was talking with Lillian who was sitting on my right, holding my hand with her other arm around me. Lillian is one of the girls who instantly clung to me last year, so it has been special to reconnect. She has been learning English, and my Spanish has improved a little, so we have been able to have quite a bit of conversation. The girls around me were asking about my brothers, so Lillian was half-translating for me, and once they got talking about ages, I told them I was “cinquenta y ocho”, which is 58. They all giggled and after some of the girls wandered off, Lillian leaned over with both arms around me, and whispered to me in broken English, “You are very special person”. Wow! To have this incredible young lady full of strength and life, and full of brokenness and trials tell me that I’m special is something I hope I will always remember.

I dread our day of departure, as I know I will begin the process of missing them, missing home, all over again and beginning a countdown until the day I return.

I’m learning to truly take in every moment and enjoy the special moments that these girls create. They are true blessings in my life and in the lives of every person they have met.

Have a blessed day!

-Sadie

4 thoughts on “These Special Moments

  1. ❤ As much as our experiences in the mission field (wherever we are, even if we're simply in the place we call 'home') helps our sisters and brothers in Christ, it's often such a great experience of personal growth (in so many ways) that I don't often know who it helps more.. them, or us… It's impossible to outgive God — we give, He gives back a hundredfold, so we give from that hundredfold, and it multiplies…

    Praying for you…

    • That is EXACTLY what is is Jolaine! Every time I leave the orphanage, I feel like I have been blessed so much more than I had the opportunity to bless them! It’s one of the best experiences!

  2. Loved reading your blog Sadie! Can’t wait to hear more about your time there when I see you in May. Praying for your ministry there.

    • Thank you nurse Christie! I can’t wait to see you guys! I will be nice and tan, which is something you guys have probably never seen, haha. Thank you so much for the prayers!

Leave a Reply

