Last Minute Thoughts

As most of you already know, I burned my left hand last Thursday and ended up going to the ER to get it checked out. I had 1st and 2nd degree burns on my palm and all 5 fingers. 1st degree burns I was told take 1-2 weeks to heal, and 2nd degree burns take 2-3 weeks to heal.

Tonight, I’m writing using both hands, and my left hand looks as if nothing has ever happened to it. I seriously feel tears well up in my eyes every time I sit and look at my hand. This should not be possible, in fact, it’s basically impossible!

The other night, I was trying to decide if I should keep the bandaging on or take it off and see what happens. As I sat there thinking, I felt God whisper to me, “Take it off in the morning, I want to heal it for you.” That seemed crazy to me. It’s one thing to pray for healing and receive it, but to feel as if God wants to heal it.

So, I woke up Tuesday morning and took of the bandage.

I really shouldn’t be surprised, so I will say that I am amazed.

My hand is 100% healed! No pain, no dry skin left, not even any sensitivity!

It is proof to me and so many others that God has His hands in every single part of my life. Although it would not have been horrible to keep my hand wrapped while in Honduras, it would have been one extra thing to pack and think about. God cares about those things, He cares about our anxious thoughts and our well-being. He cares about our hearts!

As I embark on this adventure of being in a foreign country for 3 months, I have absolutely no doubt that God will be watching over me, protecting me, and leading me.

I’m sitting here typing, and crying. Not because I’m sad, although being away for 3 months will be difficult, but because of where God has placed me. He has filled my heart with so much joy and love for Honduras. He has shown me so many incredible things in this past year. He has provided in so many ways that I couldn’t even count if I tried. My life is so filled with Him, joy, laughter and peace that it seems unreal!

This trip is something I have dreamed about for years, I can’t believe it’s all happening right now! It’s so excited, and yet so scary!

I can’t wait to see what God has for me and to jump into my role there. To meet all of my great students and teach them something that I love. To spend time with my girls at the orphanage and love on them.

It’s so overwhelming, but mostly in great ways.

Thank you so much everyone for your support, prayers and encouragement. It is something that has been much needed, but that will continue to be needed as I busy myself down there!

Have a very blessed day!

-Sadie

3 thoughts on “Last Minute Thoughts

  1. Sadie … Such good news about your healing — God is clearly showing you that He will make your paths straight — even before you see the curve in the road!! Trust Him in every detail … and trust that you hear His voice! Love and prayers as you follow so closely what He has placed in your heart. xoxox Aunt Sue

  2. You are amazing Sadie. I am so inspired by you. Have an amazing trip. God is certainly going to use you and bless you abundantly. I love you bunches!

  3. Thank you both so much for your encouragement! It means so much to know that I have so many people behind me to support and encourage me!

Leave a Reply

