One Step At A Time

I accidentally read today’s devotion yesterday, and yet I didn’t pick up on this until the second time around. I’m reading through Jesus Calling and the the very last line today is, “I will open up the way before you, one step at a time.

If you read my previous post, you will understand that my heart and dreams for my life are changing. Rather, I’m realizing I stepped ahead of God and made plans, and realized I hadn’t been stopping and checking with Him along the way. So here I am, back at square one.

Last night, I was reminded that I am just like my father. I don’t do well without a plan, of some kind. I’m always very open to spontaneity or changes, but I like to have a rough idea planned. Since my dreams for Honduras have been changing, and I’m really working on following what God has, I’ve had to drop everything I have planned. I have goals, things that I someday wish to accomplish, but I have no plan.

Except, of course, to return to Ohio and take things one step at a time.

This trip has shown me how much I love to teach. It has shown me how difficult discipline is with a language barrier. So other than finishing my Elementary Education degree, and eventually doing a year for my license, I have no plan.

Exodus 14:14 says, “The Lord will fight for you, you need only to be still” (NIV). I like the NCV even more, which states, “You only need to remain calm; the Lord will fight for you.” Remain calm, be still!

How often do we walk ahead of God, and find ourselves in a rough patch? We walk ahead in the small stuff and the big stuff. Here I had my entire future planned out, and had walked ahead of Him. This is the God who created me, who knows how many hairs are on my head, and yet I can’t trust him with my future? Of course He has it all planned out, and He will show it to me in His perfect timing. I need to be still, to sit in His presence, and to take life step by step. Not all in one giant leap, but each small step.

I may be at square one, once again, but I have this incredible God leading me. This time, I’m going to make sure He’s leading and I’m following. My prayer is that God would make it extremely obvious to me, which step He wants me to take and when.

My prayer is also that anyone that reads this may realize they need to take life step by step, walk with patience and be still!

Have a blessed day,

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

