{Cooking} Hassleback Potatoes

IMG_3146

I had been wanting to making hassleback potatoes for ages, but never got around to it. Tonight, with no other food in the house, I finally made them! They are really easy, quick and so delicious!

1) Preheat oven to 425 degrees F and wash potatoes. I’m currently living in Honduras, and have to be extra cautious about germs, so I soaked mine in water with some bleach and scrubbed them to be sure they were clean.

2) Cut potatoes in small slices, without cutting completely through the potato. I cut mine on a plate with a lip, so that the knife wouldn’t go the whole way through.

IMG_3140

3) I wanted cheese in mine, but I didn’t want to overdo it and put it between every slice as some recipes do, so I just put it in every few slices. Put them on a tray and pour a little olive oil on top of them. I prefer this to the tons of butter that other recipes used.

IMG_3141

4) Then add whatever herbs and spices you want! I don’t have very many options down here, so I added garlic salt and oregano and they were perfect together!

IMG_3144

5) Throw them in the oven and cook them for about 40 minutes, or until crispy.

IMG_3146

These were delicious, and when I’m back in Ohio I’m definitely going to try different ingredients and cheeses.

Have a blessed day!

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

