Letting God Define You

For many years, I have let a lot of things define who I am: the opinions of others, what society counts as enough or not enough, my health, and my abilities are just the start.  The worst part is that I didn’t even realize it. I have come to understand that none of it actually does define me.

My talents and my short-comings do not define me.

My mistakes and screw-ups do not define me.

My victories and wins do not define me.

Because in Christ, I am made new and with that statement come so many promises.

I’m learning to let God define me.

He defines me as beautiful, precious, righteous, whole and loved.

He defines you as beautiful, precious, righteous, whole and loved. 

Dwell in that for a moment.

The God of the universe. That same God who created the waters, the sun and the moon. That same God who put all the stars in the sky and knows every single one by name. The God who provides for the birds in the sky and the fish in the sea. He calls you His! That is just incredible.

The other morning, I woke up to this song playing on my phone. It was such a blessing to wake up to such truth landing among my thoughts. Over the previous few days, God had slowly been revealing to me the many things that I have let define me.

The first part of the chorus goes, “You are making all things new, and we are free.” I love that these lyrics show God making us new as a process. It doesn’t happen overnight, in fact it shouldn’t happen overnight. I have to give up these things, give up my heart and my thoughts to God each morning in exchange for His grace and love.

I am free of all of those things that once defined me and God is making me new.

So stop buying into and believing the lies of how the world defines you. Start letting God define you. There is some serious freedom in allowing God to transform you. I have always heard and used Romans 12:2 in reference to sin or to thinking godly thoughts but as I read it now, I see it much differently. “Do not be shaped by this world; instead be changed within by a new way of thinking. Then you will be able to decide what God wants for you; you will know what is good and pleasing to him and what is perfect.” This is what God has been doing in me. I have been clearing my head of worldy things (such as it defining me) and learning to let Him define me and turn my thoughts towards Him. In that I truly am learning what is good and pleasing to Him. I feel joy and my soul rejoices when I am doing and thinking things of Christ. It truly is an amazing process!

Hope you have an incredibly blessed day!

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

