Taking a Break

I have tried this over and over again, but I’m in a very different place now than before.

I am one of many people with social media seemingly running through my veins. It has grown to be part of me as I have grown and matured throughout the years. I have always hated my seeming dependency on it. When something is wrong, I automatically turn to Facebook to talk to someone about it. When something is funny or great, I automatically turn to Facebook to post about it. I’m realizing how much of my time I have wasted sitting on Facebook, instead of reading my bible or spending time with God. I truly believe that social media can be a blessing. There are so many relationships that I wouldn’t have been able to keep over the years without it. I also understand that we are not supposed to walk this life alone, and yet I don’t believe Facebook is the way of accomplishing this.

I recently wrote a post about how I’m relearning everything in my walk. I’m in such a square-one phase, that I have to assess every relationship, activity and goal in my life and clean out all the junk. It hurts, and it is sometimes discouraging but following God is the one most important thing I can do in my life.

God has been teaching me a lot about dependency on Him. It has to be one of the most challenging things about following Christ! I am constantly failing, and am in such a great need of grace. He continues to hand it over to me, and continues to bring people into my life who encourage me.

I want to be so dependent on Christ that He is my first thought in any situation.

When I have a rough day of work and feel discouraged, I want to first turn to Christ. When I have a really great day at work and am feeling empowered, I want to first turn to Christ. I want Him to be my first thought in the morning and the last as I fall asleep. I simply want to be completely and utterly in love with Him.

Facebook is one of the many distractions that keep this from this happening, and therefore, I’m pulling it from my life for a little bit. For now, I’m giving it up for two months, but that might become longer depending on where I’m at in two months. I have one month left in Honduras, and then I’ll be back in Ohio.

I’m going to continue to post updates here, and share the many adventures I’m walking through. God is doing huge things in my heart, I’m loving being able to truly see the transformation. This is not a plea for attention, but rather the opposite. It is about me putting my attention on the things in life that are truly important. Don’t get me wrong, I love seeing updates on the lives of those he are dear to me. I love being able to sit in a different country, and still see pictures of my friends doing life. It will be difficult to give that part up, but I also hope you can understand where I’m coming from and my desire to follow Christ fully.

So goodbye for now, Facebook friends!

I hope you have a blessed day,

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

