“Health and Wholeness”

These were the last words prayed over me during Thursday night worship this week.

This man that I barely knew had joined me and a friend during prayer time. Our church is currently walking through becoming a multi-site church and opening a new location. During this time of prayer, I didn’t say much because of my cold and asthma. I wasn’t feeling well and was also overwhelmed by the spirit, so was just resting.

At the end of this all, this same man leaned over and prayed for my sickness to go away and for me to have full health and wholeness. As soon as he turned around in his seat, I began to cry. For the past month my asthma has been bothering me a lot. It has been at least four years since I’ve had these many issues with it.

I used to use my inhaler once every month or two, but I began using it 3 or 4 times a day. For those of you who have asthma, you understand how exhausting it can be to have to baby it. You want to be able to go and do normal things and not think about it, but you know it will always be in the back of your mind.

As soon as this man prayed over me, I was able to truly breathe again. I’m not sure why I continue to be surprised when God works wonders in my health. I don’t doubt His abilities, but I’m surprised every single time.

Since Thursday night, my asthma has not bothered me. I’m still sick with a stuffy nose and itchy throat, but that is nothing when the asthma is faded off. Over the past three weeks, I have been sleeping with three pillows behind me in order to sit up so my lungs aren’t flattened. It has given me some pretty awful back pains. Last night, I was able to sleep laying down on just one pillow.

This man didn’t know I was struggling with stuff beyond the obvious cough and nose-blowing sessions, and yet felt the need to pray over me. It was such an unexpected blessing for me!

I love that God knows exactly what we need in every moment and the way He brings other people in to fulfill those needs.

This week has been extremely tough. I’m still struggling to be present mentally and emotionally. There are days that I feel as though I could completely fall apart at any moment. My life is so full of change, but most of those changes are incredible blessings.

This little work God did in my life on Thursday night was such a highlight for me. It provided that little bit of encouragement to keep going. I’ve been frustrated, disappointed and impatient with myself but I’m trying my best to give myself some grace as I adjust to this new normal.

Thanks for stopping by, and have a blessed day!

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

