What’s Your Water?

Oceans – Hillsong United

The first words of this song are, “you call me out upon the waters, the great unknown where feet may fail.”

The other night, I was having some God-time before bed and this song came on. Just those first words completely tore me apart.

If I were in the same situation that Peter had been in, and Jesus asked me to step out of the comfort of my boat and walk on water to Him, would I be willing to do it? (Matthew 14:22-33)

Right away, I began to doubt myself. I began to think that I would never do something like that, which was a disappointment to myself.

Then I felt four words whispered into my heart, “Honduras, three months, alone,” and I really got it.

Water is faith.

Later in the song, these lyrics are repeated six times:

“Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior”

I love the power in these words! It’s a call, a prayer, almost a dire need for God to call us to whatever our “waters” may be.

See, Honduras happened to me, and at times I actually don’t believe it happened. It seems so distant, so out of reach, and yet it’s there. Now I’m in this place where, for the most part, I’m comfortable. I have three really incredible jobs that I love, I’m involved with the jr. high kids at my church, I’m working towards my bachelors degree, life seems easy compared to how it was in Honduras.

It got me thinking, “what’s my water now?”

What am I doing now that requires faith?

For me right now, it is learning to be content in the place God has me. Right now, I’d rather be teaching in a classroom, or running a ministry for the less-fortunate. I’d rather be finished will school, have my own car and not be living at my parents. I’ve always been a little bit restless. I’ve always had a spirit of wanderlust. I just want to travel, experience and see things!

I’m learning how to be content with my life right now, and it’s a battle that requires a lot of faith. I’m learning to trust that God has me here for a reason, that He will use me where I am.

So, now it’s your turn. If you were sitting in your boat, and Jesus called you to Him, would you go? And what isΒ your water right now?

I’ve come to believe that every person who is following Christ always needs to have a “water” in their life.

They need to have at least one thing, big or small, that requires stepping out on faith. Walking in faith leads to challenges, which leads to growth. If we are simply living in the comforts of our boats, and ignoring what Jesus may be calling us to, we won’t grow! I’m sure that Peter’s relationship with God grew far deeper that day, and yours can to.

Some of you may ask why growing is so important, which is a valid question. My question to you is, why isn’t it?

It is tough, it can be painful, and it most likely will not be easy, but I can promise you that it will be worth it. God will be your provision in all of the challenges and struggles you may face as you walk in faith.

Just take the first step onto whatever your water may be, and see what happens.

Have a blessed day!

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

