The Busy Competition

It’s like we’re constantly comparing our busyness to others. I’ve done it and I’m sure I’ll do it again. It makes me feel less-than and insignificant, which are complete lies of the devil!

We have this idea, this false belief,  that busyness is equal to success.

I’ve heard and even seen some cases in which busyness has led to destruction. Busyness, generally, causes stress. You have a schedule that is steady and you are responsible for keeping track of everything. That along causes stress! Actually doing each of these things is an additional wear and tear on the body. Although I do believe there are a few cases in which stress can be helpful, it is mostly a damaging force.

I think that our schedules should be something decided between us and Jesus. I love The Message version of Romans 12:1-2 which says, “So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.”

This verse fully expresses how much our lives should reflect Christ.

If having a busy schedule works for you, if you don’t find yourself comparing it to others or keeping it busy simple to detract from having time to actually think, then kudos to you!

Right now, I’m in a weird place in life, and it has busy extremely busy. There are times that I wish to just run away for a week and ignore my chaotic schedule and responsibilities, but most days I love what I’m doing. Yes, I very much so long for the days of having one job, rather than four, and not trying to balance school, jr. high leading and relationships all at once. I am constantly reminding myself that this is temporary, and also of what a blessing all of my jobs have been.

If I ever find myself comparing my calendar to someone else’s, my goal is to stop and pray about it. To pull my focus back to Christ and remind myself that busyness does not equal success. Not to have more down time, but rather to make sure my attention is on God!

I strongly believe that this competitions between schedules has to end. Having a slower schedule does not make you any less. Having a busier schedule does not make you any more successful.

I’ve been recognizing how many of these ideas we have are serious heart-issues. I recently wrote a post on Modesty and as I was writing something “clicked” and I understood that what we wear is more about where our heart is. This is so incredibly similar!

If you find yourself comparing what your life looks like to someone more successful, busier, more creative, or smarter then you need to stop and truly check where your heart is at. God calls us to so much more than this!

Have a blessed day!

-Sadie

2 thoughts on “The Busy Competition

Leave a Reply

