Bible Reading Challenge

bible reading challenge

The biggest area I hear about that believers want to improve in, is reading Scripture. I hear it from my 7th grade girls and I hear it from those a few years older than me. 

I, too, struggle with staying in the Word consistently. It is far too easy to come home after a day of work and turn on a show, rather than opening the Bible. It often feels good to hit the snooze button and get a few more minutes of sleep, rather than reading through a few verses. 

I have tried everything to stay in Scripture. I have had an accountability partner, I have tried the S.O.A.P. method, I have woken up at the same time every day as set-apart time, and attempted to read a devotional before bed every night. Still, nothing has stuck. 

This September, I’ve decided to drop Youtube, Hulu and Netflix to instead spend that time reading. My hope it to dig into Scripture and uplifting books, rather than sitting and watching fake drama happen on a screen. I’m challenging everyone to read just one book of the Bible in the month of September. Comment here (or on Facebook) to say what book you’re intending to read!

I’m going to be reading through Jeremiah because it’s been ages since I’ve really dug into it. I’m also on the lookout for a study book just for Jeremiah, and I suggest you too look for something to aid in truly getting into the Scripture. 

Before I go, I just want to ask that you please check in with me to see how I’m doing with this challenge. To ask if I’ve been reading Scripture, and avoiding the three websites mentioned above. Also, if you would like me to do the same for you, let me know! 

I believe that some of these spiritual habits require dedication and also a community in order to keep to them. This is a pretty simple challenge, and it would be cool to see several people involved in this. 

Have a blessed day, 

-Sadie

One thought on “Bible Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

