Pray for Sin

Don’t panic, I’m not asking you to pray for the ability to sin, we’re already very capable of that!

I always find it interesting how conversations, sermons and reading all wrap around each other over a period of days or weeks. I love that I’m reading through Jeremiah in the month of September, and learning about the love God has for us, regardless of our sinful and wicked ways. The devotional that I read through each day, from #shereadstruth has been going through Hosea, which is touching on all the same subjects! I have been blown away by how what God is teaching me through my reading, completely lines up with what the ladies over at #shereadstruth are writing about.

Just the other day, the devotional shared the idea of praying every day, for two weeks, about our personal sin. That God would reveal it, challenge us, and give us the heart to work on and overcome it.

This is something that has been prevailing in my life. I find that the second we feel that we are “good enough” is the second we are in danger, because we’re no longer seeking improvement. And there is always something to be improved. We so often want to hear the encouraging words the Bible has to offer, and ignore all the challenges that it has for us. We put ourselves in a vulnerable place, because we aren’t pursuing the Word in the way God intended it.

So in the last two weeks of September (14-27), I’m going to be praying for sin. I’m asking that God would reveal my sin to me, and I ask that you would pray that for me too.

If this is something that presses on your heart, I challenge you to join me in these weeks of prayer!

It will be eye-opening, painful, challenging, but oh so victorious!

Sow righteousness for yourselves, reap the fruit of unfailing love, and break up your unplowed ground; for it is time to seek the Lorduntil he comes and showers his righteousness on you.

Hosea 10:12

Have a blessed day!

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

