Made New

made new

What an incredible God we serve.

I wish this was something that I spoke as often as I breathe, because it puts everything into perspective. It draws me out of my emotions, situations and attitudes and places all of my focus on the goodness, fullness and power of Christ.

Tonight, as I continue to work through the book of Jeremiah, I am blown away. It has been a really challenging book to work through, because it is repetitive and wordy. It is also in the Old Testament, therefore the laws and decrees are so much more tense. Praise God for the cross!

The verses that really hit me tonight, were Jeremiah 31:3-4 which says, “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness. I will build you up again, and you, Virgin Israel, will be rebuilt. Again you will take up your timbrels and go out to dance with the joyful.”

What an incredible promise and testimony this is for us today!

I wrote a blog pos not long ago back called “We Are Judah“. It hit me how much we place idols ahead of God; idols being just about anything from technology to people. I wrote about how similar we are to the problems that were occurring in Judah during the beginning of the book of Jeremiah.

Israel was a mess. It was bad. It was full of idolatry and beginning to see false prophecy. Chapter after chapter of Jeremiah pushes this horrible feeling of destruction on us. God isn’t just frustrated and looking to give Israel a time-out, He is angry. He is going to completely separate, and destroy Israel. All of it.

In the the few chapters before 31, we begin to see a shift. We begin to see the grace of God being revealed. We begin to see a glimpse of freedom in Israel’s future.

And then we see God’s promise: I will build you up again. Wow!

This hit me because I constantly choose other things over my relationship with Christ. I focus too much on the small, pathetic problems I face, rather than the “everlasting love” and “unfailing kindness” of Jesus! How easy it is to prioritize worldly things above our wonderful Savior!

Not only does God love me endlessly, he also builds me up again. And He does that for you to.

He takes all the rotten, broken and sinful pieces of me and washes them clean. He creates in me a new heart (2 Corinthians 5:17)! He provides a new start for me every single morning (Lamentations 3:23)! Can we be more worshipful than when we are basking in the idea that God loves us with an everlasting love!?

I love how verse four ends with “take up timbrels”, which are instruments such as tambourines, and “dance with the joyful”. We can (and should) sing, dance and praise Him because of His goodness!

If you’re feeling worn out, broken or less-than today: rest in the assurance that God is good. God is making you new and “will build you up again”. No matter what the circumstances you are surrounded by, God is bigger and has something better to offer you. Accept that, soak in it and praise Jesus for His wonderful promises.

Have a blessed day!

-Sadie

Leave a Reply

